Holy New Years[1]/Elie Aizner

I´m opening this essay, with a very provocative statement. This year I had the holiest and meaningful New Years of my life. I´m an Orthodox Jew and this sounds quite awkward coming from the mouth of "such Jews". Let me explain myself by providing an "ally" for my weird statement, the bible.

The book of Samuel, chapter 16, sentence 7 refers to this issue. Samuel is ordered by God to annoint a new king, instead of Saul. God orders Samuel to annoint the future king from Jesse´s sons. At first Samuel thinks that Eliab, the handsome and tall son of Jesse, should be king, but God refuses. God speaks to Samuel and tells him "Look not at his countenance or at the height of his stature; because I have refused him; for the Lord sees not as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks in the heart."

I work as an assistant Commander of a Jewish Identity Course in Zrifin, Israel and sometimes I question the meaning of my work. But when I think of the impact the course leaves on the soldiers for years to come, I understand the importance of my job. Similar questions arose for me when thinking about the whole concept of Birthright. It´s nice to go on a trip with students from abroad and make new friends, but does it have any lasting meaning? As an Orthodox Jew, do I have anything in common with Conservative and Reform Jews?